Oregon Culinary Institute

Writing this review I have to be completely honest, I will be writing it with a bit of a bias. I am a graduate of OCI and can completely sympathize with the anxiety that comes when cooking on the line for some students, including myself, for the first time.  Luckily I went of the last day of the term so I think some of the rookie jitters had faded. Oregon Culinary Institute has to be the cheapest 3-course meal you can find in Portland. To start the meal you are given a breadbasket of 3 types of house made breads. You have the option of 3 different starters, 4 different entrees and 2 different types of dessert.  The menu changes seasonally and right now they are on a spring menu. For my entrée I chose the Grilled Pork Loin Sandwich, it came with asparagus and pickled pepper slaw on a house made herb potato roll and a side of roasted potatoes and spring onions. The pork loin was moist and tender and had a good amount of saltiness. There was sweet picked peppers that I enjoyed but wished that there were more, I can see how they would complement the meat very well. The house made potato roll impressed me, it was soft and toasted on the grill, the smokiness from the bread and meat really helped the meat to be the star of the sandwich. Overall I would give this sandwich a 4.

 

Oregon Culinary Institute on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

